Aliens and Astronauts Day 3

What a day! This week our wonderful PTA moms hosted a book fair in the library.  The theme was “Reading is out of this world!” Today was dress up day, and I dressed like an astronaut. Dad loaned me his flight suit from Vietnam and Mom sewed on NASA patches. I thought I looked pretty good. One kid asked me if I was in the Army, and another told me that she thought NASA was closed…

___________________________________________________________

Today, my picture book ideas came to me in the form of titles. Here are a few of them:

There’s an Elf in my Attic

Blues Singin’ Bunny

Taxi Cab Kid

The Finish Line

A title says a lot about a book.  I really love clever and bizarre titles that jump off the shelf and demand my attention. I can spend hours sitting in the aisles of the children’s section of my public library looking for these titles, and I am rarely disappointed when I take them off the shelf to read. Here are a few clever picture book titles that I highly recommend:

Mom and Dad are palindromes: a dilemma for words…and backwards, by Mark Shulman

The Hidden Alphabet, by Laura Vaccaro Seeger

If I never forever endeavor, by Holly Meade

Not a Box, by Antoinette Portis

Once Upon a Cool Motorcycle Dude, by Kevin O’Malley

Press Here, by Herve Tullet

That’s all for today, folks.  Until next time!

Leave a Reply

