Read more books! Day 8

Don’t you just love kindergartners? This is what I got today after introducing them to the Smartboard wand that they would be sharing:

(all names have been changed to protect the innocent.)

“Mrs. K., should I get some hand sanitizer since I stuck my hand in my mouth?” (Janie)

“Why, yes, Janie, you should probably go get some.” (me)

Ralph raises his hand.

“Yes, Ralph?” (me)

“Well I put my finger up my nose!” (Ralph)

“sigh” (me)

I also love the way they pronounce “absent” when you take the roll.  I’ll let you use your imagination.

I generated two picture book ideas this evening. (One so-so, the other pretty good, I think.) Thanks again to Rob Sanders for his wonderful words of wisdom and his amazing guide to picture book writing.  Today on “Picture This” Rob blogged about “using unexpected connections to generate ideas.”  http://robsanderswrites.blogspot.com/ The wilder the connections the better!  My three column list is still pretty short, but I plan to add to it later. One of my examples is cat: pool party: toddler. Can you guess what goes under each column? Guess you’ll have to check out Rob’s blog to find out!

Now for the first half of a two day installment called: Kelly’s Radically Recommended Read-Alouds.  Bear with me folks, I’m desperately drained and dreadfully drowsy! Here’s my first top ten list. (Warning: this list could change tomorrow, kinda like my hair.)

10. Doug-Dennis and the Flyaway Fib, by Darren Farrell (2010)

9. Grumpy Cat, by Britta Teckentrup (2008)

8. My Heart is Like a Zoo, by Michael Hall (2010)

7. Yesterday I Had the Blues, by Jeron Ashford Frame (2003)

6. The Little Red Pen, by Janet Stevens and Susan Stevens Crummel ( 2011)

5. Zero, by Kathryn Otoshi (2010)

4. FIVE for a little one, by Chris Raschka (2006)

3. Mud, by Mary Lyn Ray (1996)

2. How Rocket Learned to Read, by Tad Hills (2010)

and…drum roll, please…

1. KARATE HOUR, by Carol Nevius (2004) Both prose and pictures in Karate Hour are  guaranteed to engage any child from start to finish. I’m wondering how many of my students will ask their parents for karate lessons next week after I read this book to them! Check out Carol Nevius’s website: http://www.carolnevius.com/index.html  Be sure to read her “about me” page. Once again, proof positive that more reading and less TV is food for the creative soul! I’m also linking to Bill Thomson’s page, because I think his illustrations are out of this world amazing. http://www.billthomson.com/

2 responses to “Read more books! Day 8

  1. Hi Kelly, just wanted to check in and see how my fellow PiBoIdmoer is doing. I do love Kindergarten and missn them. I work with the highschoolers at the moment. I have only just discovered Rob’s site, what an amazing resource!

  2. Thanks for checking in, Joanna! Yes, I must admit that the kinders give me lots of PB material! I am thanking my lucky stars for Rob’s idea generatiing strategies-they really provide structure to an otherwise mixed up mess of crazy insane ideas! 🙂

Leave a Reply

