Thank you, Pat Mora! Day 17

Pat Mora is a well-known name in the world of children’s lit. Mora’s books add a  much needed multicultural flavor to the world of children’s picture books and literature for young adults. My favorite Pat Mora book is Tomás and the Library Lady. This story is based on the Texas born educator Tomás Rivera.  It is about  his relationship with the librarian who first checked out a library book to him during a summer stay in Iowa when he was a boy.  Tomás was the son of migrant working parents and had no permanent address, so the librarian checked out two books to Tomás under her own name. I love this story!

Not only is Pat Mora an award winning author of books for children, teens, and adults, but she is also an advocate for teachers AND librarians! You go, Pat Mora!  I ordered one of her latest books for educators today called Zing! Seven Creativity Practices for Educators and Students. The reviews sound really promising, and I can’t wait to add it to our professional collection.  Other great titles by Pat Mora include Doña Flor, The Race of Toad and Deer (a re-telling of a Mayan folktale) , and Yum! ¡MmMm! ¡Que Rico! Many of her books for children are printed in both English and Spanish. To learn more about Pat Mora, her books, and her ideas on creativity, click on the blue  Bookjoy icon to the right.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Now it’s time for What is Mrs. K. reading today?

I finished the Liberation of Gabriel King, and I recommend it.  The message in the story is a good one, and its delivery is fairly original.
Now I am reading A Long Walk to Water by Linda Sue Park. (I have to admit that I really want to finish this blog today so I can read the ending!) If you need a little perspective in your life, try reading this book. Two characters tell parallel stories that take place during two different time periods in Southern Sudan.  Both stories revolve around water, of course, and survival. Linda Sue Park is another award-winning author who has written a number of outstanding multicultural books for young readers. For more about Linda Sue Park, visit http://www.lindasuepark.com/books/books.html

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Tonight when I take out my PiBoIdMo journal, I am going to write down some of my memories of growing up in a multicultural neighborhood.  I grew up with kids from India, Taiwan, Mexico, the Philippines, and Vietnam. My friends were always interested in learning about one another’s cultures and tolerance was the norm in my little world. I am already recalling some great memories that will make fantastic PB ideas. Time to journal!

2 responses to “Thank you, Pat Mora! Day 17

  1. I love The Liberation Of Gabriel King! I know Kelly Going (she’s awesome!) and I’d be hard-pressed to pick a favorite from among her books, but that one just might be it!

  2. Wow! I will definitely have to check out more of Kelly Going’s books! I really loved this sweet story of friendship, and the “fear list” was such a neat way to structure the story and address its themes.

Leave a Reply

