Librarians rule Day 18

Tonight’s post is going to be short and sweet, and anyone who works in education or knows someone who works in education will understand why!

Here is my submission for Perfect Picture Book Friday.  Thank you, Susanna Leonard Hill, for another great idea! If you would like information about other perfect picture books to read with your children or students, visit Susanna’s Perfect Picture Books list today!

 

How Rocket Learned to Read

Written and illustrated by Tad Hills

Schwartz & Wade Books 2010, fiction

Suitable for:  Preschool-Grade 1 (Ages 4-7)

Themes/Topics: reading, friendship, seasons

Opening and Brief Synopsis: “Rocket loved to play.  He loved to chase leaves and chew sticks.  He loved to listen to the birds sing.” One day as Rocket looks for a place to take a nap after playing all day, a little yellow bird announces that it is time for school!  She tells Rocket that she is his teacher and that he is going to learn how to read.

Links to Resources: http://www.randomhouse.biz/booksellers/childrens/files/2010/04/HowRocketLearnedToRead_Poster_WEB.pdf

Why I like this book: This is a jewel of a story, and it is all about the love of reading.  I think it has the power to inspire children who are just learning to read. The illustrations are also adorable!

Thankfully, I have my daily PiBoIdMo idea courtesy of one of my wonderful students.  (I totally misinterpreted her illustration, but she was not offended. She liked my idea and changed her picture!) I won’t give it away except to say this: it is holiday themed. I’ve never been inspired to write a holiday picture book, but I can already see this one taking shape in my mind!

All week I have been sharing my Robert Sabuda and Matthew Reinhart pop-up books with my fourth graders, because they will be visiting  the “Wizards of Pop” exhibit at the Visual Arts Center the Monday that we return from Thanksgiving.  Robert Sabuda has a great website with tons of great pop-up templates ranging from easy to very difficult. I chose one of the easy ones for my students to put together (a rabbit in motion) and ran it off on card stock.  We have had so much fun this week putting them together! There is no greater joy than seeing the “oh!” expression on a child’s face when he sees his pop-up creation come to life.  Many students colored their rabbits, drew meadows for them to run through, and wrote titles on the covers of their mini books.  One of my GT boys drew a shark’s mouth around the poor little bunny! Now that’s thinking outside the box!

http://robertsabuda.com/

Tonight I’ll close with a quote:

“What can I say? Librarians rule.”

-Regis Philbin

Right back at ya, Reg!

8 responses to “Librarians rule Day 18

  1. Kelly – I LOVE this entry! Thank you so much for joining us! It’s great to have a professional on board 🙂 I put your link up on my blog on the Perfect Picture Book post. I had to make up an email address (hope that won’t come back to haunt us :)) but I wanted to make sure people would see it and hop over here. Thanks again – we’re off to a good start, I think 🙂

  2. elizabethannewrites

    This book sounds delightful! Thank you for sharing. And it’s good to see a librarian in our midst. (I worked in the acquisitions department of a university library for 23 years, and I now spend a lot of time in the kids’ section of the various branches of the public libraries in my city.)

    Welcome to Perfect Picture Book Fridays — this is going to be awesome.

  3. Kelly, what a great selection. I imagine children would really enjoy this book. I especially liked the resource link. Looks like we’re off to a start.

  4. Oh. I’ll have to check this one out, as my son and I love his Duck & Goose Find a Pumpkin. Well, I like trying to make different voices for Duck and Goose … I digress. Sounds like a fun idea for PiBoIdMo too. I’ve been excited to get into the habit of writing down my ideas, too.

  5. Thanks for dropping in, Stacy! We don’t have a copy of Duck and Goose Find a Pumpkin-I’ll definitely have to order that one for the picture book collection. I have gotten so many great ideas for PiBoIdMo from my students, and they are so excited about my participation in this event. My pint-sized helpers are really incredible and inspirational!

Leave a Reply

