Read a book, give a book! Day 19

Don’t you love it when you discover something great by accident? That is exactly what happened to me today.  A random Google search led me to an amazing online literacy initiative that I plan to share with everyone I know! It is called We Give Books and it is sponsored by the Pearson Foundation. When you visit the We Give Books website you will find a free e-book library filled with some of the latest and greatest picture books for ages 0-10. (Pearson is adding new books every month!) Each time you finish reading an e-book, simply click “Give a Book” at the bottom, and Pearson will donate a picture book to a child in need via the campaign of your choice. (You must set up an account in order to choose one of the five literacy campaigns that Pearson supports.  You only have to provide your name and an email address to participate.)  It’s that simple! I chose LitWorld, a campaign that is currently giving books to the children of the Navajo Nation.

Participating in a literacy initiative like We Give Books is a wonderful way to encourage your children to love reading while also teaching them to give to other children who may not be as fortunate.  I know what we’ll be doing in the library after the Thanksgiving break!

Here is a link to the site: http://www.wegivebooks.org/  I have also added a We Give Books Widget to my page.

Award winning authors give books!

____________________________________________________________________________________________

What is Mrs. K. reading today?

I finished reading A Long Walk to Water by Linda Sue Park, and I highly recommend it. The story is based on the real life experiences of one of the Lost Boys of Sudan. I also highly recommend a picture book about the Lost Boys of Sudan called Brothers in Hope: The Story of the Lost Boys of Sudan written by Mary Williams and illustrated by Gregory Christie (2005).

I cannot wait to start reading my next YA historical fiction choice An Elephant in the Garden by Michael Morpurgo.  (Michael Morpurgo is also the bestselling author of War Horse.) I haven’t read any reviews of this book, but I have high hopes for it. A book about an elephant set in war torn Dresden in 1938 sure sounds like an interesting read to me.  I’ll keep you posted!

2 responses to “Read a book, give a book! Day 19

  1. I read a Long Walk to Water a couple of weeks ago and loved it. I confess to some tears. having lived and worked in Africa it was particularly meaningful. I am a huge Morpurgo fan too, though I have not yet read this one.

  2. Wow, Joanna! What kind of work did you do in Africa? I, too, was moved by this book. I have read other books about the Lost Boys of Sudan, but this one was especially poignant. I felt as if I was right there with Salva and Naya through their journeys.

    I am really enjoying your blog. I will have to order Penguin Post for our library-it sounds like a perfect book to read to my little ones this winter!

Leave a Reply

