Angels bowling Day 21

A storm is ragin’ tonight! We definitely need the rain in Texas, so I won’t complain.

I remember lying in bed around age 3 listening to the thunder crash above our little house. To comfort me, my mother sat at the foot of my bed and told me that the angels were bowling. What fun, I thought!  I envisioned angels in white gowns and halos tossing bowling balls down golden lanes.

Since then, I have encountered violent acts of nature that have truly terrified me including hailstorms, tornadoes, dust storms, and hurricanes. Severe weather events can devastate entire communities. In 2005 Hurricane Katrina devastated the Gulf Coast, and my own parents evacuated their home the same year when Hurricane Rita threatened the city where I was born.

I have also witnessed wondrous acts of nature. I’ve watched the fattest snowflakes fall along the Texas coast.  I’ve danced in the drought-breaking rains of the Texas Panhandle.  I’ve spent sunny summer days sailing on lakes across North Texas. Nature is unpredictable, uncontrollable, and utterly awe-inspiring.

If you need a picture book idea, look no further.   Picture books can demystify the science behind weather phenomena. They can also encourage children to appreciate and enjoy the natural world of weather.  Here are some notable titles from my school library collection:

Thunder Cake, written and illustrated  by Patricia Polacco (1997)

If Frogs Made the Weather, written by  Marion Dane Bauer and illustrated by Dorothy Donahue (2005)

Cloudy Day, Sunny Day,  written and illustrated by Donald Crews (1999)

The Cloud Book, written and illustrated by Tomie DePaola (1975)

Storm is coming!  written by Heather Tekavec and illustrated by Margaret Spengler (2002)

The storm book, written by Charlotte Zolotow and illustrated by Margaret Bloy Graham. (1952)

If you are a visually inspired writer like I am, you might enjoy creating an online glogster poster at glogster.com. It’s fun and it’s free!  Check out  my picture book weather idea glog. You can even print it out and put it in your writing journal!

______________________________________________________________________________________________

What is Mrs. K. reading today?

I started a new children’s novel today called Breadcrumbs by Anne Ursu (author of the Cronus Chronicles) I haven’t finished the book, but I think it is safe to say that I highly recommend this novel. The majority of the book is anchored in reality, but there is an element of fantasy as well. Ursu interweaves the two worlds brilliantly. Breadcrumbs is an ideal choice for fifth grade children who will easily identify with the main characters in the story.

4 responses to “Angels bowling Day 21

  1. Catherine Johnson

    I love that quote from your mom about angels bowling, how wonderful! You ahve experienced a lot of weather. I had never even thought to write a pb about weather. Closely related to rivers though, I have a couple of ideas about rivers.

    That Breadcrumbs book sounds awesome, thanks for sharing!

    • Catherine, I have lived in every corner of Texas, and the weather is quite different in each part. Some of the craziest weather I have experienced has been in the Texas Panhandle. I have driven through a red dust storm cloud like the ones you see in the 1930’s dust bowl pictures-very scary!

      Breadcrumbs is great-I can’t put it down!

  2. And I thought you were going to tell me you were writing a picture book about angels bowling! You should so write it!

Leave a Reply

