I made it! Day 30

small readers

I made it! 30+ Ideas in 30 Days!

I am so thankful that  Tara Lazar began PiBoIdMo for those of us who love to write and illustrate for children.  Tara has created an amazing online and interactive medium for discussing, sharing, and learning about picture book writing.  When I decided to participate in PiBoIdMo I had no idea that I would meet so many wonderful people and learn so much about the kidlit and publishing world in one short month!

Read more about how much I have enjoyed PiBoIdMo at geek the library.org.

Thank you to all of my new friends (and my Mom!) for commenting on my blog posts throughout the month. I started my blog on the 1st of November thinking no one would read it.  Still I wanted to keep an online record of my journey, so I took a chance, and I met all of you! I look forward to continuing our online exchange of ideas as we strive to become the best writers that we can be.

I ♥ my PiBoIdMo blogging buddies!!

__________________________________________________________________________________________

My goals for the upcoming year:

1. Dig through my PiBoIdMo journal and find the diamond ideas!

2. Start a new writing journal.

3. “Flesh out” ideas and create storyboards and book dummies.

4. Continue to blog and learn from my picture book writing friends.

5. Join the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators

6. Find a local critique group.

7. Read Second Sight: An Editor’s Talks on Writing, Revising, and Publishing Books for Children  (in the mail!)

8. Read The Writing & Critique Group Survival Guide: How to Make Revisions, Self-Edit, and Give and Receive Feedback  (in the mail!)

9. Maybe, just maybe…search for a literary agent! That may be a goal for next year.  But we’ll see!

New adventures await! I can’t wait to hear about yours!

12 responses to “I made it! Day 30

  1. Kelly, I hadn’t realized that you had started your blog this month. Go you! I need to check out your other blog too. I love your realistic list. SCBWI is an absolute must and just awesome.

    I plan on:
    1. Joining Julie Hedlund’s 12×12 and aim and writing a PB manuscript per month.
    2. Would hope to be seeking an agent at some point next year.
    3. Finish The Plot Whisperer!
    4. Read Harold Underdown’s The Complete Idiot’s Guide To Publishing Children’s Books, which I have just received!
    5. Keep improving my blogging!

    • Joanna, I remember the night I decided to start this blog. I thought, “You are crazy, Kelly!” But it has turned out to be one of the best things I have ever done! I only have this blog-but I do plan to keep it up-will most likely post twice a week (or more depending on my work schedule)
      I really like your list of goals for the year-will have to get my hands on a copy of The Plot Whisperer!
      It has been such a pleasure getting to know you this month, Joanna. I look forward to getting to know you better in the coming months! Let’s keep each other motivated to write! 🙂

  2. elizabethannewrites

    YAY YOU for completing the PiBoIdMo challenge! I’m so glad to have started getting to know you this month.

    Like Joanna, I had no idea that your blog had just begun. It is an absolutely awesome blog! And as Joanna says, SCBWI is a must. Besides gaining so much from the resources available on their site, their local and national gatherings are amazing. Both Joanna and I attended the Summer Conference of SCBWI in LA this past summer, and found it an experience without equal.

    I would also recommend The Children’s Book Hub as a great source of inspiration and knowledge (there’s a link on my website, as well as a glowing review in one of my posts.)

    My goals include making my blog more focused, and beginning the process of finding an agent. (For a more fleshed out expression of my goals, there will be a “goal post” on my blog on Dec. 31. Pun not intended, but not avoided, either.)

    • Thank you, Beth! It has been an absolute pleasure getting to know you through PiBoIdMo. I look forward to blogging more with you. Who knows, maybe we can meet up at a SCBWI conference someday soon! Thanks for the complement on my blog-I have learned so much about blogging in one short month. I think I finally have a handle on WordPress! I will also check out The Children’s Book Hub. Thank you so much for your support. Keep writing, and keep blogging! I really enjoy reading your posts.

  3. I did realize this blog was new (love it!) but didn’t realize you had another blog! Congrats on your successful PiBoIdMo and good luck with your goals. I’d share mine but I am way not organized enough to articulate them this far in advance of New Year’s 🙂

    • This is my only blog-I must have said something hinting at another, but this is it! (Maybe it was the link to geekthelibrary?) Thanks so much for the encouragement, Susanna. I am so glad to have met you and look forward to learning more from you! I’m going to keep adding picture book to Just Right Books. It is has really taken off! I cannot wait for your books to get here!

  4. Catherine Johnson

    I didn’t realise this was new either, it’s so nice to meet you through PiBoldMo. You are going to love second Sight, it is a gem of a book! Look forward to seeing what you do with your ideas.

  5. I did PiBoIdMo but failed it. I only have sixteen ideas but some are fleshed out. My last idea is my best and I am doing research on it. It is how we immigrant children celebrated Christmas. Now to find out how many picture books there are in my native country about it. So don’t want to plagarize.

    Congrats to you for making it to day 30 with 30 ideas. And congrats on this blog. Glad to *meet* you. 🙂

  6. In my opinion, 16 ideas are no failure! Keep it up! 🙂

  7. Your goals are awsome. I can’t wait to watch and cheer you on as you meet each one. You are an inspiration.

  8. Thank you so much, Brenda, for believing in me! It means so much to me. After many years I have rediscovered my passion for writing, and I can’t wait to see what happens in the months and years to come! 🙂

Leave a Reply

