An itty bitty post

Working with children every day brings so much joy to my life…

This afternoon a kindergarten student drew a picture of a colorful rainbow with a smiley sunshine and asked me how I liked it.  I told him I liked it so much that I wished I could jump right into his picture and sit next to the rainbow. The look on his face was priceless!

A first grade student accidentally left a crayon mark on our reading tent in the library today. With tears in his eyes he approached me to confess what he’d done. I told him that it wasn’t a big deal, that we all have little accidents from time to time. Still he cried until I “pinky swore” that I would not tell his teacher.  Instantly no more tears!

The third grade students filled out elf applications to Santa today after reading the picture book How Santa Got His Job. On page two of the application the students are asked to tell Santa why they would make good elves. One child wrote, “I am very mucher, Santa!” (mature-I love their inventive spelling!)

Another first grade student demonstrated his new “robot” dance moves for me this morning.  He had been practicing for days, he told me. 🙂

Enjoy your day, everyone!

8 responses to “An itty bitty post

  1. Thank you for sharing these fun and lovely moments. Very sweet.

  2. Kelly, moments like these make our jobs so worth it! I am sure there was a story to go with that rainbow!

  3. What wonderful anecdotes! Kids are so priceless, aren’t they? And they are lucky to have you to appreciate them 🙂

  4. elizabethannewrites

    What delight! Thanks so much for sharing, Kelly!

  5. You’re very welcome, Beth! 🙂

Leave a Reply

