Bringing the Rain to Kapiti Plain

Hooray for the weekend, and hooray for Perfect Picture Book Friday, sponsored by Susanna Leonard Hill!

Title: Bringing the Rain to Kapiti Plain

Retold by Verna Aardema and illustrated by Beatriz Vidal

Puffin Books 1981

Suitable for ages 5+

Themes: Africa, animals, crops, drought, rain

This is the great Kapiti Plain,

All fresh and green from the African rains-

A sea of grass for the birds to nest in,

And patches of shade for wild creatures to rest in…

Ki-Pat watches the lush green plains turn brown. His cattle grow hungry. A drought has struck the Kapiti Plain.  A large gray cloud filled with rain hovers over the plain. Ki-Pat makes a bow from an eagle’s feather, a leather thong, and a slender stick. He shoots the cloud with an arrow and the rains comes down with “thunder LOUD!”

Links: 

http://teacherlink.ed.usu.edu/tlresources/units/byrnes-literature/SECurtis.html

http://www.scholastic.com/teachers/lesson-plan/bringing-rain-kapiti-plain-discussion-guide

Why I like this book:  This book is a favorite among my teachers.  The story unfolds like the nursery rhyme This is the House that Jack Built. A new line is added to each two page spread and the story builds until the rains fall. If you read this story out loud, don’t be surprised if your audience begins to chant the lines with you!

20 responses to “Bringing the Rain to Kapiti Plain

  1. What is with the covers this week? This is the third PPB so far today that has made me want to read it just from the cover! I love the sound of this book, and think the story must be wonderful if the rain comes because of the boy and his bow! You always find great books – the advantages of being a librarian I guess 🙂 Thanks, Kelly!

    • Yes, having a great collection of children’s books is an advantage, I think! Your PPB list is a huge help to me for discovering great new books for the collection that I might not read about in my review journals. I think my next order will probably be all perfect picture books from your website! Thanks, Susanna!

  2. Sounds wonderful! Love cumulative PBs. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Looks like you and I were connected in our selections of books, as were others. I love this story and the video was fabulous. I can see that it is a favorite at school. Always like to see what you select. Mine is a nonfiction story about a desert region in Africa.

    • I just read your PPB post and you are right! Yours sounds great, and I love that it is nonfiction-I think it would be great to pair your book with my folktale for a classroom lesson!

  4. I hope my library has this one. I found a counting safari book for Enzo and he loved it.

  5. Woo hoo. My library has this one. I may have it in my hands by tomorrow.

  6. I love the format of the book! That repetition does wonders for both language and literacy development and the illustrations look whimsical and lovely. Kelly, I think you have my dream job! I used to be a teacher before I was a stay at home mom. But now, I think when I grow up I want to be the school librarian. What a very, very, cool gig! 🙂

  7. Catherine Johnson

    The rhyme is so natural just like the subject matter. What a perfect outdoor type book for kids.

  8. I agree, Catherine. Very natural rhyme-almost effortless!

  9. Kelly, I love this one and often read it to the kids when I was librarian! It has an African beat to the rhythm too!

  10. This is a wonderful book! My middle son loved it when he was younger and our copy is well worn! Excellent pick!

  11. Thanks, Heather! This is one of those books that will continue to be read by future generations of children-it is timeless!

  12. Catherine Johnson

    Hi Kelly, I need your email address. Can you send me an email to catherine_mrsj[at]hotmail.com please (secret squirrels 😉

  13. I’m late, but oh what a wonderful book this appears to be! Thanks for sharing!

    Today on my blog, I’ve awarded you with the Kreativ Blogger Award. See this link for details: http://www.bethstilborn.com/kreativ-blogger-award-thanks-debbie-johannson/

  14. Thank you, Beth! I am honored that you thought of me! I left you a message on your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

